Στο κλαμπ του Μάρτη και ο “επαναστάτης” της Ρωσικής Μουσικής Σχολής Modest Mussorgsky [1839-1881], από δυο έργα του οποίου ακούμε αποσπάσματα : το “Ταξίδι του Γκολίτσιν” [00:00], ιντερλούδιο από την όπερα Khovantchina, και τα δύο τελευταία μέρη από την ορχηστική βερσιόν του Pictures At An Exhibition : The Hut On Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga) [04:08] και The Great Gate Of Kiev [07:46].
Ο Evgeni Svetlanov διευθύνει την USSR Symphony Orchestra.
Για περισσότερη μουσική του Mussorgsky στο blog : [1], [2]

Another member of the March born club is the “rebel” of Russian Music School,
Modest Mussorgsky [1839-1881], from two works of whom we hear excerpts : “Golitsin’s Journey” [00:00], an interlude from the opera Khovantchina, and the last two parts from the orchestral version of Pictures At An Exhibition : The Hut On Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga) [04:08] and The Great Gate Of Kiev [07:46].
Evgeni Svetlanov conducts the USSR Symphony Orchestra.
For more Mussorgsky’s music on the blog : [1], [2]

(Visited 91 times, 1 visits today)


  1. Resa March 31, 2023 at 11:06 pm

    This is magnificent. Thank you!

  2. Ken Powell April 3, 2023 at 11:41 am

    Can’t beat a good bit of Mussorgsky! Pictures is one of the few suite of pieces which works in any medium – orchestral, piano or even (as I grew up with, listening to Tomita) synthesizers. He had the golden touch even if the composer himself was a drunken liability!

    1. Oannes April 3, 2023 at 11:58 am

      Agreed! I still hear one or two excerpts from the Emerson Lake And Palmer version from time to time, for “nostalgic” reasons.


Leave a Reply