Στα 1931, το μέλλον του 27χρονου Νίκου Σκαλκώτα φαινόταν λαμπρό. Είχε ήδη κερδίσει βραβεία και διακρίσεις ως σολίστ του βιολιού, είχε ταξιδέψει στη Γερμανία με υποτροφία, είχε την τιμή να εξαρθεί από τον ίδιο τον Σένμπεργκ ως ένας από τους πλέον ταλαντούχους συνθέτες – μαθητές του.
Έχοντας αναπτύξει ένα προσωπικό σύστημα σύνθεσης επηρεασμένο το δωδεκάφθογγο του δασκάλου, προχώρησε σ’ αυτό που θα αποδεικνυόταν το μεγάλο λάθος της καριέρας του : αποφάσισε να
επιστρέψει στην πατρίδα.
Η αντιμετώπιση του Σκαλκώτα από το εγχώριο μουσικό κύκλωμα, πλήρως ελεγχόμενο από τους μουσικούς της “Εθνικής Σχολής” με επικεφαλής τον
Μανώλη Καλομοίρη, είναι χαρακτηριστική της διαχρονικής μοίρας των πολιτιστικών πραγμάτων σ’ αυτή τη χώρα : ανύπαρκτος ως συνθέτης [ούτε ένα έργο του δεν εκτελέστηκε εν ζωή] δεν κατάφερε να πραγματοποιήσει καν καριέρα σολίστ του βιολιού παρά τη διεθνή του φήμη : το “πόστο” του στην Ορχήστρα της Λυρικής ήταν στα μετόπισθεν, σε ένα από τα τελευταία αναλόγια.
Με δεδομένη την γενικευμένη κρίση στα πολιτιστικά σήμερα, δεν ξέρω πόση σημασία έχει να αναφέρει κανείς ότι, από επιφανείς ξένους μουσικολόγους, ο Σκαλκώτας κατατάσσεται
ανάμεσα στους μεγαλύτερους συνθέτες του 20ου αιώνα.
Ακουμε 7 από τους
Ελληνικούς Χορούς του, σε έξοχες αναγνώσεις από τα έγχορδα της Συμφωνικής του Malmo, υπό τη διεύθυνση του Νίκου Χριστοδούλου.

In 1931, the future of 27-year-old Nikos Skalkottas looked bright. He had already won awards and distinctions as a violin soloist, had traveled to Germany on a scholarship, had the honor of being praised by Schoenberg himself as one of his most talented composers – students.
Having developed a personal composition system influenced by the teacher’s 12-tone one, he proceeded to what would prove to be the great mistake of his career : he decided to
return home.
The treatment Skalkottas received by the domestic music circuit, fully controlled by musicians of the “National School” led by
Manolis Kalomiris, was characteristic of the timeless fate of cultural things in this country : non-existent as a composer [not a single of his works was performed in life] he did not even manage to make a career as a violin soloist despite his international fame: his “post” in the Lyric Scene Orchestra was at the back, in one of the last lecterns.
Given the generalized crisis in cultural affairs today, I do not know how important it is to mention that, by eminent foreign musicologists, Skalkottas is ranked among the greatest composers of the 20th century.
We hear 7 of his
Greek Dances, in excellent readings from the strings of Malmo’s Symphony, conducted by Nikos Christodoulou.

00:00 Epirotikos 01:53 Kretikos 03:27 Tsamikos 05:47 Thessalikos 07:07 Mariori Mou Mariori Mou 11:53 Arkadikos 15:43 Kleftikos

(Visited 117 times, 1 visits today)

Discover more from OANNES

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.


  1. Liz Gauffreau March 27, 2023 at 12:24 am

    A delightful musical interlude. I enjoyed it.

    1. Oannes March 29, 2023 at 10:07 pm

      Thank you for appreciating Greece’s best “classical” composer ever!

      1. Liz Gauffreau March 29, 2023 at 10:17 pm

        You’re welcome! There was much to appreciate.

  2. Pingback: NIKOS SKALKOTTAS [1904-1949] : 7 GREEK DANCES – Hellas Life

  3. Resa March 29, 2023 at 9:58 pm

    Thank you! I thoroughly enjoyed this.

    1. Oannes March 29, 2023 at 10:02 pm

      Thank you for listening! This is the best Greek “classical” composer ever lived, a true genius – he died poor and totally unknown.

      1. Resa March 29, 2023 at 10:28 pm

        How unfortunate. Many artists of all ilks die penniless and in obscurity. Thank you for exposing his music to us! Excellent music.


Leave a Reply