EINOJUHANI RAUTAVAARA [1928-2016]: CANTUS ARCTICUS, concerto for birds and orchestra

Συναρπαστικό ορχηστρικό έργο του Einojuhani Rautavaara. Ξεκινώντας από νεοκλασικιστικές αναζητήσεις, ο Φιλανδός συνθέτης θα πειραματιστεί στη συνέχεια με το δωδεκάφθογγο, για να περάσει τελικά σε ένα είδος νεορομαντικής τεχνοτροπίας μυστικιστικών αποχρώσεων – σ’ αυτήν ανήκει το έργο που ακούμε. Ο Mikko Franck διευθύνει την Φιλαρμονική Ορχήστρα του Radio France

Fascinating orchestral work by Einojuhani Rautavaara. Starting with neo-classical explorations, the Finnish composer will then experiment with the twelve-tone system, to finally end up with a kind of neo-romantic style of mystical hues – this work we are hearing belongs to that era. Mikko Franck directs the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra.

(Visited 35 times, 1 visits today)


  1. trentpmcd December 21, 2019 at 4:16 pm

    I’ve never heard this before. Very nice. I like the recording of the birds.

  2. Oannes December 22, 2019 at 9:55 pm

    Glad you liked it, I also find it a brilliant combination. A very talented guy… Thanks!

  3. Resa December 26, 2019 at 11:58 pm

    Gorgeous!!! I really enjoy listening to the longer pieces you post. I can do things while I listen.
    Happy Holidays, Oannes!

  4. Oannes December 27, 2019 at 8:51 pm

    That’s cool, cause I ‘m more of a fan of “music” myself, than of “songs”. And I intent to put more jazz and classical stuff from now on.
    Thanks a lot, and happy holidays to you too!

  5. Resa December 27, 2019 at 10:26 pm

    So,Toronto is going nuts for this pianist, Chilly Gonzales. He once broke the world’s record for the longest solo concert (27 hours).
    I only just heard of him yesterday.
    Have you heard of him?

  6. Oannes December 28, 2019 at 8:11 am

    He ‘s really good. I ‘m gonna put stuff of his in the near future.

  7. Resa December 31, 2019 at 12:23 am

    Yay!!! I look forward!

  8. Oannes December 31, 2019 at 1:52 pm


Leave a Reply