Από τους καλλιτέχνες που η φήμη τους είναι εγκλωβισμένη σε ένα και μοναδικό έργο, ο Αμερικανός Samuel Barber [1910-1981], ανήκει στο κλαμπ των γεννημένων Μάρτιο συνθετών. Πέρα από το “σουξέ” του, Adagio For Strings, o σημαντικός νεορομαντικός έχει γράψει ορχηστρική και χορωδιακή μουσική, έργα για πιάνο και μια όπερα [Vanessa]. Ακούμε το έξοχο Media’s Dance of Vengeance – έργο που προήλθε ως απόσταγμα από τη σουίτα μπαλέτου Media. Την Royal Scottish National Orchestra διευθύνει η Marin Alsop.

Among the artists whose reputation is trapped in one single work, the American born Samuel Barber [1910-1981], belongs to the March born composers’ club. Apart from his “hit” Adagio for Strings, the significant neo-romantic has written remarkable orchestral and choral music, works for piano and one opera [Vanessa]. We hear the exquisite Media’s Dance of Vengeance – a distillate from the ballet suite, Media. Marin Alsop conducts the Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

(Visited 88 times, 1 visits today)


  1. Ken Powell March 13, 2023 at 4:25 pm

    I do love Barber’s Adagio – for strings, less so for the original quartet – but know very little else from him. This is very good – thank you for sharing it Oannes!

      1. Ken Powell March 23, 2023 at 4:58 pm

        I shall give them a listen – I don’t know how I missed them!


Leave a Reply