Σαν σήμερα, 31 Μαρτίου 1685,  στο ‘Αιζεναχ, γεννήθηκε ο Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ, ο μεγαλύτερος συνθέτης όλων των εποχών. Στο έργο του σημειώνεται η αποκορύφωση του μπαρόκ ως είδους, ενώ, σύγχρονοί του συνθέτες, με επικεφαλής τους γιούς του, οδηγούν ήδη τη μουσική σε νεωτερικά μονοπάτια, περισσότερο μελωδικά, λιγότερο δαιδαλώδη. Ο Μπαχ, αγέρωχα ασυμβίβαστος με τις “επιταγές του καιρού”, θα ακολουθήσει δικό του δρόμο, παράγοντας ένα έργο που στέκεται πάνω από εποχές, κατηγοριοποιήσεις …και συγκρίσεις. Ακούμε τον Glenn Gould στην Toccata in C minor, BWV 911. Στη συνέχεια ο Hugh Banton, οργανίστας των Van Der Graaf Generator, στο θέμα και τις δυο πρώτες παραλλαγές Goldberg, εκτελεσμένα σε ηλεκτρονικό εκκλησιαστικό όργανο κατασκευασμένο από τον ίδιο [το “άλλο του επάγγελμα”…]. Η Ann Sophie Von Otter τραγουδά την άρια Sehet Jesus hat die Hand Chorus Wohin’, από τα Κατά Ματθαίον Πάθη. Οι I Musici στο τελευταίο μέρος [Menuetto, Trio 1, Pollaca, Trio 2] από το Βραδεμβούργιο Κονσέρτο Νο 1 και τέλος, ο Anton Webern, ο μεγάλος συνθέτης / μαθητής του Schoenberg ενορχηστρώνει, κάνοντας ελαφρώς …ανησυχητικό το Ricercar a 6, εξάφωνη φούγκα από την “Μουσική Προσφορά”.

On this date, March 31, 1685, Johann Sebastian Bach, the greatest composer of all times, was born in Eisenach. His work is the culmination of the Baroque genre, in a time where his contemporary composers lead  music to new paths, less complex and more melodic. Bach, imperiously incompatible with the trends, would follow his own path, producing a work that stands beyond eras, categorizations … and comparisons. We listen to Glenn Gould on Toccata in C minor, BWV 911. Then Hugh Banton, keyboardist of  Van Der Graaf Generator on the Aria and the first two Goldberg Variations, performed on an electronic church organ made by himself [that’s his “other” profession]. Ann Sophie Von Otter is on the aria Sehet Jesus hat die Chorus Wohin’, from St. Matthew Passion. I Musici perform the last part [Menuetto, Trio 1, Pollaca, Trio 2] from Brandenburg Concerto No 1. And finally, Anton Webern, the great composer / Schoenbeg’s advocate, orchestrates Ricercar a 6, a six-voice fugue from Musical Offering, making it sound slightly …worrying.

(Visited 197 times, 1 visits today)


  1. trentpmcd April 1, 2020 at 3:32 am

    My favorite composer. I don’t think I have ever heard the Webern transcription. Interesting, and very long for Webern, who seems to have specialized in miniatures…

    1. Oannes April 1, 2020 at 10:04 am

      Mine was always Handel. I know Bach is [much] greater, but it’s just that “something” with Handel that makes me fall in love at first sound.
      Interesting what you say about Webern taking a break form the Haikus – hadn’t thought about it. Maybe taking that break was the idea in the first place…
      Thank you very much!

  2. Resa April 5, 2020 at 9:02 pm

    Another composer whose name I know, but not the music. He certainly is very varied in his realm.
    I must say The Glenn Gould piece is my fave of these selections, but I love them all!


Leave a Reply